Colony

It has been little while. Hi. Hi not many people. I have been busy of late, and by busy I mean I got a job. I am in gainful employment now, how about that?

Colony is not about my employment. It seems to me that it slipped under the radar a bit. I often tell people;

“oh my god, Colony was class last night!”

This is swiftly followed by;

…”what?”

Either you watch Colony yourself or I guess you might want to know if it’s worth watching. Yes it is. LOST was one of my favourite shows and in that show is the character. My mate Chris introduced me to LOST and any time we introduce one another to a new show we will say who the “Sawyer” is. I guess that means who is the awesome gritty badass? Daryl is the “Sawyer” of The Walking Dead for example, but not as cool. NO, he is not. Sawyer, or Josh Holloway (the actor) plays Will Bowman in Colony. He is a former FBI agent caught up in the politics of his district in order to gain intelligence on his lost son. The city of Los Angeles is in ruin, as is the rest of the United States. At the beginning we learn that some alien host has claimed control of the planet (at least I assume this is happening across the planet).

colony-usa-tv-show-josh-holloway-639x360

The show does well to give nothing away. Season one just ended and I simply can’t wait for the next. It has been very well set up. The city is divided between two key groups. There are the “red caps” who are essentially the authority on the street who work for Proxy Snyder, the leader of the occupational government. There is Geronimo, an extreme resistance group who fight against the rule of Snyder. Throughout the season we watch the plans of Geronimo unfold, and it seems it is up to the viewer to decide who are the good guys and the bad guys. I had no expectations with this show and therefore I do not wish to give anything away or big it up anymore.

The cast of the show are fantastic. Josh Holloway (and his beautiful hair), Sarah Wayne Callies of Prison Break and The Walking Dead, Peter Jacobson and Tory Kittles to name a few. They all deliver some very exciting and convincing performances in this political/ sic-fi drama. The beauty of it is, you forget about the hosts who have taken control of the population on earth and get sucked into the affairs of the people.

COLONY -- "Pilot" Episode 101 -- Pictured: (l-r) Alex Neustaedter as Bram Bowman, Isabella Crovetti-Cramp as Grace Sullivan, Sarah Wayne Callies as Katie Bowman, Josh Holloway as Will Bowman -- (Photo by: Paul Drinkwater/USA Network)

I give Colony 8/10. Great acting, story, twists, originality, exciting action, interesting characters, well scripted and overall just nicely put together. Bring on season 2.

 

BYE

 

Leave a Reply

